The Phillips RéAura – An Independent Review: #3 Into week 3

Man, I looked hot today! Very hot. My skin was redder and sorer than it’s been until now. I’ve now stepped up to level 3 of the RéAura. There is no discernible worsening of the stinging sensation during the treatment, although it did seem more hot and sore when I washed my face with cold water to remove the gel afterwards. Lying in bed having applied aftercare, my face did seem to sting more, especially across my forehead, which is my main area of concern for old pigmentation. I treat quite late in the evening and therefore only have time to apply the aftercare lotion once before going to bed, but maybe it would be better if I treated my face earlier because the aftercare lotion really does help to soothe the skin.

I have an issue though: it’s difficult to achieve sufficient contact when treating my nose. This is a pity and I hope my nose doesn’t look five years younger than the rest of my face at the end of the course of treatments. Perhaps Phillips could look into providing a different laser contact tip for the nose.

The next morning my face is puffier and still sore, although certainly not unbearably so. The soreness more or less fades by  lunchtime as with all previous treatments. It is difficult to tell at this stage, and I wouldn’t really expect to see any improvements, and it might be because my skin is slightly swollen and puffy, but I do think I am starting to notice a very gradual evening out of my skin tone. The tiny scabs are still there or, rather, are being replaced by new tiny scabs each time. Parts of my face seem dry, tight and a little flaky.

I started doing these posts because I was curious about the effect of the new beauty treatment on Indian skin. Such issues are not well documented. Even make up for women of colour was introduced only in recent years. The fact is that all skins are different and, whilst my treatment diary might give Indian women an indication of how the RéAura might work for their skin, it’s never going to be the definitive answer. More importantly, Indian skin is going to be different from Black skin which can, as I understand it, be prone to keloid scars. I can’t make any claims that what applies to me will apply to these sorts of skins too.

This raises an important point: not only are different types of skin different, but the growth of intercultural genetic mingling must make it more and more difficult to supply a definitive answer about which products suit which people. A child of, say Irish and Caribbean parentage is bound to have different skincare requirements from someone of, say Norwegian and Chinese parents. Do you see what I mean? Now it seems to me that there are two ways that companies can deal with this: either they can try and undertake costly research and development into a wide range of skin types, without ever being sure of capturing all different types definitively, or they can focus on one particular skin type and hope that different sorts of people with different sorts of skin will try their product, see its effect on them and make recommendations accordingly. Which is what is happening here, I suppose.

Of course, it’s much easier to develop and market cosmetics that match different coloured skins but have no real physical effect than it is to develop, test and market say, laser treatment which could be more dramatic and traumatic in use. It’s a difficult problem. I just think that companies should be more open about this issue and that their potential consumers would have more respect if they could at least acknowledge the difficulty of the situation. Having a product available to try out on one’s skin is paramount, of course.

*not a sponsored post*

©MsAlliance 2012

Leave a Reply

