My Knitting: #12 Mittens for mum

I knitted these as a replacement for the super chunky Big Wool mittens in the previous post, as I confused the instructions and came out with something I thought less than desirable, especially for a present. Unfortunately, there was no shade in Rowan aran yarn to match the Wild Berry Big Wool shade, so I went for mittens that would tone instead. You might be surprised at the choice of yarn. Being a bit funny like that, I normally prefer only to use natural fibres. But, having found holes apprearing in newly-bought cashmere gloves in the past, I find a bit of artificial fibre strengthens the gloves for this purpose.

This pattern from the largely idiot-proof Knitty Gritty book went better than the Rowan Ash pattern, although I found that, when knitting the first mitten, I didn’t quite sew far enough when seaming the thumb so I left myself with a hole that had to be remedied with a couple of stitches.

Otherwise, the mittens were a snug fit but quite long but perhaps that’s an issue with my tension. Does anyone know?

I finished these mittens just as I received a phone call from India from my mother (and the cousin with whom she is staying) wanting to shorten her trip and come home early so she’ll need some warmer clothes.

Ladies’ Mittens from Knitty Gritty – Knitting for the Absolute Beginner
Aneeta Patel published by A&C Black 2008

Knitted in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino aran yarn: 55% Merino wool, 33% microfibre 12% cashmere. Shade 052 on 5mm bamboo needles. 1.5 x 50g skeins required.

Leave a Reply

