Nars Pure Radiant TInted Moisturiser SPF 30

IMG 0720

You will be aware from previous reviews, dear Reader, that I am a fangirl of Bobbi Brown and her cosmetic shades that suit all complexions. If you wear make up it’s good to wear a least some sort foundation to make sure the make up stays put and doesn’t slip down into a rainbow-coloured mess around your jawline at the end of the day. And if you’re going to use foundation the absolutely essential thing is to find exactly the right colour. Nicely-matched foundation can make one feel and look decently dressed. But a shade too dark and I look as orange as a Belisha beacon; too light and I look grey and ill. I’m lucky to have found out that “my” colour is Bobbi Brown’s Warm Natural in winter, darkening to Honey in the summer.

So far so good. But I don’t necessarily always need to look completely polished, and in summer usually find myself reaching for a tinted moisturiser as a quicker, more laid-back alternative to proper foundation. After all, it’s a bit odd to look completely soignée on holiday or, as in my case, for a sunny walk with the dog. This year I’ve been using the Phillips RéAura skin rejuvenation machine too, as you know. I’m currently in the middle of my second 8-week course of that, and require more sunscreen protection than usual for slightly stressed, lasered skin.

The problem is that the RéAura temporarily makes my skin darker and causes teeny-tiny scabs where the laser has entered the skin. They don’t last long and are easily dislodged with a gentle exfoliant, but need a little coverage nonetheless. The problem with the Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturiser, in my case at least, is that the shades are far less nuanced and accurate than the actual foundation shades. Normally I can get away with the Medium to Dark Tint shade in summer, but at the moment it is the wrong shade and is giving me a ruddy-grey cast to my skin. Which looks odd.

I stumbled upon the new Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser SPF 30 during my recent Space NK visit. I was dubious: the Nars is a lot, lot yellower in tone than the Bobbi Brown equivalent as you can see in the comparison photo below. And the staff in the shop admitted that Nars is most often bought by Asian ladies who naturally have a yellower undertone to their skin. Anyway, still dubious, I tried the Nars Cuba shade. That’s it on my hand underneath my usual Bobbi Brown shade. You can see how it tones much better with my skin.

IMG 0722

In use, the Nars Tinted Moisturiser goes on beautifully and, with its increased SPF, is more protective than the Bobbi Brown version. So, I think I’m converted!

Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser SPF 30 is widely available. Price £27

**Not a sponsored post**

 

Leave a Reply

