Origins: a Perfect World SPF 25 Age defying moisturiser with White Tea

I quite like this moisturiser although I have no means to prove scientifically its age-defying benefits or otherwise. I am generally sceptical about the claims of anti-ageing creams. In my view, how well one ages is largely due to genetic factors such as skin type, and how one looks after one’s health. I’m lucky to have had oily skin (as I reassure my pubescent daughter,) as it means I don’t look anywhere near as old as my age. Do I ? *glares around challengingly*

But on this occasion, the Origins representative saw me approaching with my daughter and assumed I would need an anti-ageing cream so I thought I would give it a whirl.

I generally quite like the Origins range, being a particular fan of their Modern Friction scrubs. The cream is nice as far as it goes but, for me, it’s not ground-breakingly improving enough to rave about it. It’s a moisturising cream with a sunscreen that doesn’t make my eyes water. It’s a slightly weird pinkish colour. That’s about it.

There is, however, one thing that really annoys me about this particular version of A Perfect World, and that’s the horrible crusty scum that develops around the screw-top rim of the pot. Exhibit A:

Yuck!

I asked an in-store rep about this and she said that it was really important that I screwed the lid on really tightly (which I do) and kept the pot on a flat surface, (which I don’t, always, but if the lid is always tightly screwed on, why should this matter?) I have to wipe around the rim a lot otherwise this crusty deposit finds it way onto all the rest of my skin care regime. Not good.

At the moment, I am using Origin’s Night-a-mins as a night cream, and have not experienced the same effect so I can only speculate that A Perfect World’s crusty scumminess is something to do with the sunscreen it contains. Buts it’s enough of an annoyance to prevent any further purchase. Sorry Origins.

Incidentally, I recently found out that Origins is one of Estée Lauder brands. It’s packaged without fuss or gloss, presumably to appeal to tree-huggers such as myself. And for those who say “I just use Vaseline,” that’s a petrochemical product.

There are so many brands in the Estée Lauder empire, all targeted at different market segments. Are they all really so different? I mean, is a Bobbi Brown night cream so different from an Estée Lauder branded one? Is an Aveda brown eyeshadow so radically other than one from MAC? I’m not one of those people like my anti-market father in law, who believes that we should just have one brand and be done with it. I lived in China in the mid eighties, when Chinese consumers took what they were given, put up and shut up, and that hasn’t exactly worked there since, has it?

I just wonder if we need quite so many different brands under the same conglomerate. Surely that means more packaging, more brand cannibalisation, more waste. But what do I know? Except that this suburban housewife can see with her own eyes that the Ariel Liquid bottle is exactly the same shape as the Bold bottle.

Anyway, I digress. If you’re not put off by this rant, the A Perfect World range is available from Origins widely in department stores and online priced £32 for 50ml

*Not a sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

